• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

CPT Need help for best cost efficient decision for CPC

RN2Coder

Hello CCO forum members! I have a unique sort of situation that I am hoping that I can get some ideas from you all so I can make a good but quick decision.

I am a RN and want to learn coding for MD offices. I took the CPT class through AAPC and completed it. Took the CPC test 2x ( I had to complete my exam vouchers before 8/31) and failed. It was a blow because I honestly thought I did better the second time. Which I did, but obviously not enough (-2 pts). I studied hard but I know the time crunch worked against me.

So... I have the ICD-10 proficiency exam as a part of my AAPC package which I must complete as you all know by Dec 31. I want to to do well on that BUT I won't be certified and the ICD 10 certification is not until Jan 2016. And from what I understand you are already at a disadvantage job wise being a CPC-A but even more so if you are not certified... O_0.

I am not sure because of the change over in October if a third try for ICD-9 is even worth it??

My biggest concern is I don't have a lot of $$ to invest in additional training at this point; so my goal is to find what will be the MOST cost effective and best type of training combined. Here are the options I am considering:
  1. Take Alicia's webinar on ICD 10 proficiency + study through AACP the 16 hour ICD 10 proficiency course (part of my package) + Save up for 2016 CPC cert exam + Pray for the best.
  2. Take A&P/Term for ICD 10 through AAPC + Study 16 hour course + Pray I pass the Proficiency exam + Save up for 2016 CPC cert exam +Pray for the best.
  3. Do # 1 AND #2 (of course that is like $400 though), Save up for ICD 10 certification exam next year + Pray for the best.